Week #9: Voting About the EU.

There has been a lot of debate about which way we should vote in the EU Referendum. A lot of “keyboard warriors” and a lot of “part-time politicians” clogging up our collective timelines. Some people see this as a bad thing, I see it as a good thing. Engaging in politics is great, it means you care. What I don’t like is how it has divided us lot, the people.

I’m voting to say IN Europe for a variety of factors.

·      NOBODY KNOWS what will happen if we leave the EU. Everything that the Leave Campaign has said will happen is all guess work, nobody knows for sure what our PM will negotiate with the EU in the terms of our leaving. As I’m not an expert in European politics, I think we should Remain as we are as I don’t definitely want to leave.

·      The EU, while not perfect, is a relationship. Relationships need work and if we are to tackle global issues like climate change, poverty, immigration, this needs to be done in collaboration with other countries.

·      I don’t think the Tory government have my best interests at heart. A simple, divisive statement, I know. But I don’t like that pink-faced pig lover and wouldn’t trust him with a pair of scissors, let alone my future.

If you take the stance – like many people who will vote Leave do – that the influx of EU immigrants has strained our schools, hospitals and housing, then I’m afraid I can’t accept your argument. The global population is getting bigger. People are living longer. The free movement of EU people throughout its’ member states is something I am al for. If there are more people using these services, it is down to the government to make sure these things are invested intelligently in and are correctly funded. The problem is not with people coming in, it’s with the people at the top mismanaging the country. Maybe build more hospitals and treat nurses better? Maybe build more schools and treat teachers better? That’s why there have been strikes.

Having not done enough research, I like many of us have put my trust in people that seem to know what they’re talking about and vote they way they’re voting. The only politicians who support us leaving are from the far-right, ‘ban all the Muslims’, thinking parties or from wealthy backgrounds which have proven in the past to be more concerned with individual gain, sometimes at the expense of others. In other words, people I don’t relate to. The politicians who think we should stay are the more level-headed people that I share the same outlook with.

That’s why I think you should vote ‘Remain’ today.

This post will probably be met with opposition, which I welcome. Just don’t be a dick about it and let’s have a conversation.

Leave a Reply

